First Responder Training Program

Home  » Behavioral Health  » Substance Abuse Services  » REVIVE! Opioid Overdose and Naloxone Education (OONE) program for the Commonwealth of Virginia  » First Responder Training Program  »

No-Cost Naloxone and Accessory Cases for First Responders – Announcement

The Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services is excited to announce a new partnership with the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police (VACP). VACP is administering the First Responders - Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (FR-CARA) grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

The overall aim of this grant is train and provide resources to first responders on carrying and naloxone for emergency treatment of known or suspected opioid overdose.

For the purposes of this funding first responders include firefighters, law enforcement officers, paramedics, emergency medical technicians, or other legally organized and recognized volunteer organizations that respond to adverse opioid related incidents.

For the duration of this grant all First Responder REVIVE! trainings will be scheduled through VACP. Stephanie Diaz is the VACP Grant Program Manager. She can be reached at stephanie@vachiefs.org or by phone 804-937-3200.

More information is available here https://www.vachiefs.org/content.asp?contentid=237

For all REVIVE! related questions please contact Alexandria Robinson, REVIVE! Program Coordinator at revive@dbhds.virginia.gov.


REVIVE! Basic Training for First Responders: This training certifies attendees to administer Naloxone in the event of an overdose emergency. The training is between 1-1.5 hours long, and covers understanding opioids, how opioid overdoses happen, risk factors for opioid overdoses, and how to respond to an opioid overdose emergency with the administration of Naloxone.

REVIVE! Train the Trainer for First Responders: Successful completion of this training program is required to become a Certified Trainer of the REVIVE! Basic Training. This training program is approximately 2-3 hours long and covers understanding opioids, how opioid overdoses happen, risk factors for opioid overdoses, how to respond to an opioid overdose emergency with the administration of Naloxone, and the administrative requirements to conduct REVIVE! trainings.

REVIVE! Training Schedule: REVIVE! Trainings are being scheduled throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia. To view scheduled trainings, please visit the VACP Calendar. To request a training in your area or for questions about REVIVE! trainings, please contact VACP Program Manager, Stephanie Diaz, at stephanie@vachiefs.org.

Certified REVIVE! Trainers: To download a list of trainers certified to conduct the REVIVE! Basic Training for First Responders, click here. To view a list of master trainers qualified to conduct the Train the Trainers classes, please follow this link.


REVIVE! Law Enforcement Master Trainers are able to provide the Train the Trainer Course. Additional First Responder Master Trainers are needed, see the requirements to become a master trainer.

Northern Virginia

First Sgt. Christopher Anderson

Germanna Community College Police Department

Contact via email: CAnderson@germanna.edu

Chief Craig Branch

Germanna Community College Police Department

Contact via email: cbranch@germanna.edu


Northwest Virginia

Lt. Kevin Freid

Greene Couny Sheriff's Office

Contact via email: kfreid@gcvasheriff.us

Lt. Steve Southworth

Wintergreen Police Department

Contact via email: ssouthworth@wintergreenpolice.org

Christopher Swingler

Green County Sheriff's Office

Contact via email: cswingler@gcvasheriff.us


Southwest Virginia

Sgt, Michael Conroy

Virginia State Police

Contact via email: michael.conroy@vsp.virginia.gov

Deputy Mike Hatfield

Buchanan County Sheriff's Office

Contact via email: mike.hatfield@buchanancounty-va.gov

Lt. Teresa Meade

Wise County Sheriff's Office

Contact via email: tmeade@wiseso.net


Central Virginia

Jennifer Mays

Virginia Department of Corrections

Contact via email: jennifer.mays@vadoc.virginia.gov


Southeast Virginia

Special Agent Scott Wade

Virginia State Police

Contact via email: scott.wade@vsp.virginia.gov